Camera not scrolling properly

Jan 26, 2011 at 1:51 PM

I am just getting started using Physics Helper and have a question regarding the camera.  I have created a simple ball that has a force applied to it when keys are pressed to get it to fly around the screen.  When I attach a camera to the ball and run the program the screen does not scroll to the ball (it moves in the direction of the ball but not far enough to keep it within the screen).  Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

Jan 28, 2011 at 6:21 PM

I had a similar problem when I was first trying to use the CameraControllerMain class supplied with the library. After a bit of debugging, I noticed the problem arose from the following two statements:

currentTargetXOffset = Convert.ToInt32(_targetElement.BodyObject.Position.X);
currentTargetYOffset = Convert.ToInt32(_targetElement.BodyObject.Position.Y);

As you would notice, BodyObject.Position has (much) smaller values which definitely don't represent the pixel coordinates of the object (_targetElement).

So our workaround was to import CameraControllerMain.cs itself into the project, and change those two lines to this instead:

currentTargetXOffset = Convert.ToInt32(_targetElement.Position.X);
currentTargetYOffset = Convert.ToInt32(_targetElement.Position.Y);
This way, the camera accurately follows the _targetElement. I wrote about this problem in my blogpost.

Feb 1, 2011 at 10:01 AM

Another way of doing it with importing the class is to use the TargetOverrideX and TargetOverrideY properties on the camera.

You'll need to register to the physicscontroller timer event and use something like this sample code:

void _physicsController_TimerLoop(object source)
        {

double overrideX = (_rectangle.Position.X + _rectangle.Width / 2);
            double overrideY = (_rectangle.Position.Y + _rectangle.Height / 2);
            _cameraControllerMain.TargetOverrideX = overrideX;
            _cameraControllerMain.TargetOverrideY = overrideY;

}