Hiding the lines that appear when moving objects...

Feb 11, 2011 at 5:26 AM
Edited Feb 11, 2011 at 5:27 AM

Hi,

I just started playing around with PhysicsHelper and it's awesome! Amazing how easy it is to incorporate physics behavior in simple scenarios.

I am trying to get a hang of it by experimenting on PhysicsHelper for Windows Phone 7. I noticed that whenever I move the objects or drag them around, a line appears. Is there way to disable these lines from appearing?

I searched the discussions here, and on Farseer too, but couldn't find anything useful. I know it's probably a matter of setting a flag or something, right?

Prabhu
www.techtwaddle.net

Feb 11, 2011 at 11:27 AM

What a coincidence. I had just come to the forums to find an answer for this myself, and lo and behold - there's your post staring right at me!

Having a look at the source code (./Common/PhysicsHelper/PhysicsControllerMain.cs to be exact), _lineShowSpring appears to be set as visible, with no options of turning this off.

I've tried importing PhysicsControllerMain.cs and editing it myself (like I did with CameraControllerMain earlier), but I wasn't able to grab the PhysicsControllerMain object after that.

Maybe if we search through the entire game canvas for the line in some smart way, and make sure it's collapsed?

Feb 11, 2011 at 11:46 AM

I've got a quick workaround. I just added a handler for the Physics Controller's mouse move event as so:

pc = cnvGame.GetValue(PhysicsControllerMain.PhysicsControllerProperty) as PhysicsControllerMain;    
pc.MouseMove += new PhysicsControllerMain.MouseMoveHandler(touchMove_MainMenu);

So while the mouse (touch) is 'moving', the line can be found and it's visibility overridden:

void touchMove_MainMenu(string sprite)
{
    foreach (UIElement uiElement in cnvGame.Children)
        if (uiElement.GetType().Name == "Line")
            uiElement.Visibility = System.Windows.Visibility.Collapsed;
}